Genealogy

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Genealogy

Post by terrianne on Sat 18 Apr - 20:30:13

I'm certain I'm not the only genealogist here!

I've been researching my family tree for nearly 15 years now and wow, have I unearthed a few "surprises"!

I've found more than a few pints of Irish, Welsh blood and Romany blood; a glassful of Dutch blood; more ancient criminals than I care to count and a handful of lords and ladies.

But not a single Scot. I can't imagine why this is!!!surprised

terrianne
Wee Jamie

Back to top Go down

Re: Genealogy

Post by tearose on Sat 18 Apr - 23:08:41

you are not alone, it really is an interesting pastime Smile
tearose
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Jean Read on Sun 19 Apr - 7:21:33

I've not actually researched my self though my eldest Son and two of my cousins did. Was saddened to know many of my paternal ancestors lived in work house's in East London. Thrilled to learn of Huguenot's on Maternal side, sad that many records destroyed in the French revolution..
Jean Read
Wee Jamie

Back to top Go down

Post by terrianne on Sun 26 Apr - 19:19:52

Despite not having a single Scot in my family (or none that I've found so far), my gran's maiden name was Randall! How ironic.

terrianne
Wee Jamie

Back to top Go down

Post by tearose on Sun 26 Apr - 21:21:42

Indeed terrianne Smile

Jean. yes that was a hard life in the work house. Interesting on the Huguenots too Smile

If anyone needs any help with their tree drop me a PM Smile
tearose
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Islawhite on Sat 2 May - 16:48:03

You are not alone! I absolutely love genealogy! Fairly standard stuff for me - all Irish with only a hint of English in there! It can be quite a challenge with the few Irish records that there are - but I love it!!

Islawhite
Wee Jamie

Back to top Go down

Post by terrianne on Sun 3 May - 20:24:53